Screens and all content are updated on the device at pre-defined synchronization intervals. These intervals occur in the background when the app is running:

  • At user login (or auto-login if using the 'Remember Logins' option).
  • On app's return to foreground from being in the background on the device.
  • When the user clicks the Upload button in a form.
  • When the user manually clicksthe Check for Updates button found on the settings screen of the app. The updates button is used for manual checking, it is not required for synchronization to occur.

When any synchronization occurs, the app kicks off uploads/downloads of any pending media files. The app will display synchronization messages when a synchronization is in progress, completed or failed. Sync failures usually occur when there is no network connection. The app will keep retrying at the intervals above.

Media file uploads & downloads (e.g. photos, audio, video) are run separately in the background, to block data sync, and are not reported as part of the sync messages. This is because such files are usually larger and take longer to upload. App users can track the progress of media file uploads via the 'Pending Files' count found in the settings screen of the app. If there are no files pending, there will be no messages in the settings screen.

Why are users seeing an older version of their screens & data sources?

This can happen when the user is quick to launch a new entry while a sync is still in progress. It's possible that the entry they created is against the old version as the sync has not had enough time to pull down the new version. If users are waiting on a new screen to work on, they should wait for the 'Synchronization completed' message which confirms the sync has occurred.

Did this answer your question?