If screens or docs are not appearing on your device you likely have a Folder in your account that is restricting user access. If you see a 'lock' icon next to a Folder name it is enforcing access control. Folders with user access restrictions are useful when many different departments/teams are using the same app but need to see different screens and docs.

There are a number of ways to restore access to your desired Screens/Docs, depending on your requirements. We've included some steps below for different scenario's you may encounter.

Scenario 1: You want to keep your Folders for organizing Screens, but don't want to enforce user security.

You will need to turn off User Access Restrictions on the Folder(s) preventing your users from accessing the Screen/Doc in question.

  1. Go to the Screens or Docs page in the secure website (App Builder -> Screens/Docs).
  2. On the right side you will see your folders. Click on each individual folder name that has a 'lock' next to it, note how the Screen/Doc results change. Look for the Folder that contains your target Screen/Doc. It will still appear in the page results after filtering.
  3. Once you've found the locked Folder containing the Screen/Doc, click on the 'lock' icon next to the Folder name. In the Folder Settings dialog, untick the 'Restrict User Access' checkbox and save your changes.
  4. Repeat for all other locked Folders as desired.


Scenario 2: You want to grant Screen access while continuing to enforce user security on the existing Folders.

To do this you can add your desired Screens/Docs into a folder that your user has access to, or add a new Folder with no user restrictions, and assign your Screen/Doc to that Folder.

To add a Screen/Doc to a Folder:

  1. Go to the Screens/Docs page (App Builder -> Screens/Docs).
  2. Click the checkboxes next to the desired Screens/Docs listed in the 'All' folder.
  3. Click 'Organize' button to assign your selections to the folder.
  4. Click the '+' icons next to the chosen folders to assign folders to your Screen/Doc selections.

Once you have done this, ensure that the Folder in question does not have the 'Restrict User Access' checkbox checked.

Otherwise give your user access to the Folder:

  1. Go to App Builder -> Screens, and hover over the folder name on the left hand side.
  2. A little 'cog' icon will become visible; click on this icon to open the Folder Settings.
  3. In the 'Assign to Users' field, chose the users that you wish to have access to the folder. This will give them access to all Screens and Docs contained in the folder.
  4. Click the 'Save' button to save your changes.

Scenario 3: You don't want/need Folders at all.

Removing all folders will switch the system back to 'open access', meaning all Screens/Docs are visible to users.

  1. Go to App Builder -> Screens, and hover over the folder name on the left hand side.
  2. A little 'cog' icon will become visible; click on this icon to open the Folder Settings.
  3. In the Folder Settings popup, click the Delete button.  Don't worry, your Screens/Docs in that folder are safe - deleting a Folder has no effect on its contents.

After removing all folders you should see all Screens and Docs on your device again. For full details on folders, see the Folders section of this documentation site.

Did this answer your question?