You can use our Enterprise Toolkit to separate organization units and functions into separate environments. Our platform enables you to copy screens, data sources, docs or folders to various environments. For example, this function can be used if you have content that addresses a company wide need, or a need to copy a 'production' version of a screen for editing and testing to multiple testing environments.

Fortunately, our platform provides a simple way to copy content from one account to another. You can even set copied content to be kept in sync with the original version, thus enabling you to maintain a single 'master copy'. This copy can update into the various accounts that installed a copy. This functionality is available through our repository feature.

Note: This document assumes you are familiar with Master Account's and environment contexts. If not, please review this documentation.


Locate your repository

Each organization account under your control has it's own repository. You can access this from the navigation menu on the left. Select Platform Admin, and then Repository from the drop down. 


If you are logged into your master account you will enter you repository page by clicking the Repository link off the main menu. If you are in an environment account, the repository link will take you to your installs page, which will show the content that is currently installed in that account.


Add content to your repository

To add content click 'ADD NEW+' in the top right corner. A series of fields will appear. Fill them in to register your chosen screen/doc/data source/folder.

If you have multiple items to add you can create a folder that groups all the content together. From there you can simply add the folder to your repository. More information on this below. Keywords, visibility and category fields are not currently in use and can be ignored. 

Once complete, click 'ADD ITEM+' to complete the registration of your content into the repository.


Install content to other accounts

Once you have added content, the installation of that content is simple. Follow these steps:

1. Return to your repository page.

2. Use the checkboxes to the left of the listed content items to select the content you want to copy/install to other accounts.

3. Click on 'MANAGE INSTALLS' in the top left. This will open a dialog window.

4. Select the accounts that you wish to install to.



5. Click on 'INSTALL' in the top left to schedule the installation. 

The system will now run the copy and installation process in the background, this can take up to 5 minutes to occur. Any errors will show in the notifications tab of the navigation menu.

When the installation is complete, you will see the content has appeared in the target installation accounts.


Update/synch content to other accounts

When you add content to your repository, the system will register the exact version of any screen or doc involved.
You can create a 'Test' version of a registered screen/doc in your master copy account. From there you can make changes without impacting other accounts until you are ready to publish the new version.

Note: The system does not automatically synchronize content when you publish a new version in the master copy account. We designed repository this way to prevent you from affecting installed copies in other accounts. It enables you to test out and iterate new versions in your master copy account, until you are ready to synchronize and make available to other accounts.

When you have a master copy version that you want to make available to other accounts, simply update the content listing in the repository. The new master copy version must be in 'Published' status.

1. Return to the your repository page.

2. Hover over the content listing of your target item to update, and click 'edit content'.

3. You will see that the system has detected the new version available.  Click 'Update To Latest'. This will update the master copy listing and also schedule a synchronization to any installed accounts that were marked to 'keep in sync' during step 5 of the 'Installing Content' section above.


Tips and Tricks

Save time by using folders to deploy content

Add content to a folder in your master copy account, and register the folder into the repository. From here you can install the folder into your environment accounts, and this action will copy across all contents of the folder.

Note: Any folders you register into the repository should not enforce user security, as rules can't be transferred between accounts.

If you make updates to folder contents and want to copy them across to environments, go into the repository and install the folder to the target accounts again.


Use global settings in your connector setups

By using a common set of folder paths, or global values, you can avoid needing to update connectors on the content that you install into environments. 

For file based connectors - e.g. FTP, Dropbox, etc- the file name and folder path will be copied as part of the repository install. As such, aim to use the same, generic folder structure and file names for each of your environments. Use the connection login details as a means of setting different roots for each client, e.g. set up a separate Dropbox account for each environment, and then create the exact same folder and file name paths in each Dropbox account. Similarly with FTP etc.

For REST or URL based connectors, use the various global options found on the 'Organization Setup' page to set up a unique global URL per client account. Then in relevant connectors, e.g. forms REST connector or data source Hosted GET, use our #{{GLOBAL}} syntax option to substitute some or all of the connector's target URL, e.g. #{{GLOBAL}}/api/endpoint. 

Did this answer your question?